Customs CG Compliance Team makes N317m contraband seizures


The Comptroller General of Customs Compliance Team, Zone C, says it confiscated N317 million worth of contraband between April and September.

The National Coordinator of the Team, Comptroller of Customs, Ahmed Azarema, told newsmen in Benin on Thursday that the contraband included poultry products, fake and non-certified drugs, rice, used clothes, tyres and vehicles.

He disclosed that the zone had so far intercepted and destroyed 8,750 cartons of banned frozen products valued at more than N182 million, smuggled into the country.

Azarema said that 1,149 cartons of fake and uncertified drugs valued at about N17.4 million were also intercepted within the period and handed over to NAFDAC.

He disclosed that 4,373 bags of 50 kilogrammes banned foreign rice, valued at about N78.7 million, and 192 bales of used clothing valued at about N23 million were also seized within the period.

READ ALSO  Nigeria owing IOCs $5.1bn

Other contraband intercepted included 698 pieces of used tyres valued at N4.5 million while 30 vehicles with forged and faulty importation documents were also seized.

He, however, said that more than N10.9 million had so far been raised through demand notice (DN) on 17 of the seized 30 vehicles, while the remaining 13 vehicles were still in the custody of the Nigerian Customs Service (NSC).

Azarema added that 13 suspects were arrested within the period, adding that they were being prosecuted.

He attributed the success recorded in the zone, especially the Edo axis, to the resilience, commitment to duty, doggedness and combined efforts of the team, led by Assistant Comptroller Oseni Musa-Ije and Kaila Shuaibu, the Officer in Charge of Benin axis.

READ ALSO  Russia rejects U.S. call to release Ukrainian ships, sailors

Azarema gave assurance that from NCS officials close marking, activities of smugglers would no longer be attractive in the near future in the country.

The Comptroller General of Customs Compliance Team Zone C comprises Edo, Delta, Anambra, Bayelsa, Rvers, Akwa ibom, Cross River, Ebonye, Enugu, Abia and Imo.