ANLCA TIN-CAN CHAPTER ELECTIONS Immediate past Chairman, Farinto, barred from contesting

Immediate past Chairman, Farinto, barred from contesting
… As another ex-Chairman, Oyinlola, snatches victory

Elections into the Executive Committees of the Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA) Tin-Can and Ikorodu chapters, two out of the four ANLCA Western Zone chapters where elections were inconclusive, were finally held yesterday.
The Tin-Can elections were not without the usual intrigues, as the bulk of the electorate protested that that they were not informed that the polls, which were scheduled to hold last Wednesday, had been rescheduled to take place yesterday.
Quite a number of the electorate were also aggrieved at the disqualification of Tin-Can Chapter Chairmanship forerunner, Mr. Kayode Farinto, who although present at the elections venue, which was heavily guarded by Police personnel, was barred from entering the premises.
SHIPS & PORTS DAILY learnt that the Association Electoral Commission (ASECO) was served a court summons on behalf of Farinto to explain why he was not cleared for the elections.
It would be recalled that Farinto had suffered a simmilar fate in last January’s inconclusive polls.

The protest also bordered on why the elections should be conducted, even though the ASECO had legal summons to respond to.
Despite the protests, the two chapters – Tin-Can and Ikorodu – had their elections.
For Tin-Can Chapter, of which seven positions were vied for, a former Chairman of the chapter, Mr. Kayode Oyinlola, with the disqualification of the only other contender and immediate past Chairman of the chapter, Mr. Kayode Farinto, emerged Chairman, with 47 votes while 29 votes were voided.
Immediate past Vice-Chairman of the chapter, Ada Akpunonu, who decamped from Farinto’s team to join Oyinlola’s, was re-elected Vice-Chairman, with 40 votes, against Akintoye Ojo Peter’s 35 votes.
Mr. David Chuks Kanikwu emerged Secretary, with 38 votes, against Molokwu Achike’s 32 votes, while Michael Olanrewaju emerged Financial Secretary, with 27 votes, against Idowu Owoade’s 24 votes.

Mohammed Majeed was elected Treasurer, with 38 votes, against Akadiri Abiodun’s 31 votes, while Emmanuel Onyeme was, by a slim gap, elected Public Relations Officer, with 35 votes, against Nzeribe Ebere, who had 33 votes cast in his favour.
Adebowale Adebare, was elected Assistant Secretary of the chapter unopposed.
Ikorodu Chapter elections had the immediate past Chairman, Chief Tomi Aloba, re-elected Chairman and the Interim Secretary of the chapter, Jimoh Lawal, elected the chapter’s new Treasurer.
On the conclusion of the elections, Chairman of the ASECO, Alhaji Abdulazeez Babatunde Mukaila, addressed journalists on the allegations that the ASECO had a hidden agenda, as claimed by the electorate who staged a protest prior to the conduct of the Tin-Can Chapter elections.
Mukaila dismissed the allegations, asserting that it was the same medium the committee used in relaying the previously scheduled elections date that was used to pass on the rescheduled date.

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to as the source.