Buhari, 7 Ministers, 3 Governors leave for South Africa today 

President Muhammadu Buhari
President Muhammadu BuhariMuhammadu Buhari


President Muhammadu Buhari, accompanied by seven Ministers and three state governors will leave Abuja for South Africa for a state visit today. 

Presidential spokesman, Shehu Garba, who disclosed this in Abuja yesterday, listed the Ministers accompanying the President as Saleh Mamman (Power), Rauf Aregbesola (Interior), Olamilekan Adegbite (Mines and Steel Development), Maigari Dingyadi (Police Affairs); and Mariam Katagum, Minister of State, Industry, Trade and Investment, Bashir Magashi (Defence) and Geoffrey Onyeama (Foreign Affairs).

Governor Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano State, David Umahi of Ebonyi and Simon Lalong of Plateau State are also in the delegation of the president on the trip. 

According to Shehu, Buhari will discuss the welfare of Nigerians in the country with Ramaphosa during the visit.

He said the President and his South African counterpart, Cyril Ramaphosa, will also look towards common grounds for Nigerians to “build harmonious relations with their hosts”. 

About 500 Nigerians were recently evacuated from South Africa following xenophobic attacks in the country.

Shehu said during the visit, the president will hold a town hall meeting with Nigerians living in the country “with a view to sharing in their experiences and reassuring them of Nigerian government’s commitment to working for the protection of their lives and property.”

“President Buhari and his host will preside over the South Africa/Nigeria Bi-National Commission, during which a progress report will be presented. At the end of the meeting, both leaders will sign a joint communiqué.

“The president and his delegation including Nigerian business representatives will also participate at a South Africa-Nigeria Business Forum with their host counterparts.”

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to www.shipsandports.com.ng as the source.