Buhari inaugurates panel on parastatals’ reconstitution



President Muhammadu Buhari, has inaugurated the Presidential Committee on the reconstitution of Federal Government Boards of Parastatals, Agencies and Commissions.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Engr. Babachir David Lawal, disclosed this yesterday in Abuja.

A statement issued by the Assistant Director (Press) in the Office of the SGF, Oise Johnson, said the committee is headed by the SGF.

Members of the committee, according to the statement, include Alh. Mai Mala Buni (North-East Zone), Alh. Zakari Idde (North-Central Zone) and Alh. Inuwa Abdulkadir (North-West Zone).

Others are Chief Hillard Etagbo Eta (South-South Zone), Chief Pius Akinyelure (South-West Zone), Chief Emmanuel Eneukwa (South-East Zone), and Gideon Sammani (Senior Special Assistant to the President) as Secretary.

The Terms of Reference of the Committee include:

“(i) To determine and recommend to Mr. President, the Governing Boards of Federal Government Parastatals, Agencies and Commissions to be reconstituted immediately.

“(ii) To identify the available positions of the Chairmanship and Membership levels in each of the affected Parastatals, Agencies and Commissions as provided for in their respective enabling laws.

“(iii) To allocate the Chairmanship and Membership positions to each State of the Federation and the Federal Capital Territory, including slots for Presidential discretion.

“(iv) To receive and screen the nominees received from the States and the Federal Capital Territory and recommend them to the President for consideration and approval.

“(v) To ensure balance in the distribution of Board members along the geo-political zones of the country.

“(vi) To advise Mr. President on any other matter(s) regarding the composition of the Boards that are incidental on the foregoing terms of reference.”

The committee after the inauguration, held its inaugural meeting in Abuja.

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to www.shipsandports.com.ng as the source.