Buhari names train stations after Osinbajo, Tinubu, Saraki, others

Buhari names railway complex after Jonathan


President Muhammadu Buhari has named train stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and the Itakpe-Ajaokuta-Warri corridors after “deserving citizens who contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large”, the Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, has said.

This was contained in a statement by the Ministry of Transportation on Monday.

According to the statement signed by the Ministry’s Director of Press and Public Relations, Eric Ojiekwe, the Minister disclosed that the Apapa Station has been named after the All Progressives Congress stalwart, Bola Tinubu; the Abeokuta Station named after respectable Nobel Laureate, Prof Wole Soyinka, while the Ajaokuta Station was conferred on Olusola Saraki, the late father of former Senate President, Bukola Saraki.

Also honoured were; Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station), Babatunde Fashola (Agege Station), Lateef Jakande (Agbado Station), Yemi Osinbajo (Kajola Station), Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto Station), Segun Osoba (Olodo Station), and Micheal Ibru (Opara Station).

Others include; Ladoka Akintola (Omio-Adio Station), Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan Station), Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre), Adamu Attah (Itakpe Station), Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo Station), George Innih (Agenebode Station), Anthony Enahoro (Uromi Station), Tom Ikimi (Ekehen Station), Samuel Ogbemudia (Igbanke Station), David Ejoor (Abraka Station), Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu Station) and Mike Akhigbe (Railway Village, Agbor).

Saraki thanks Buhari for honouring father

Meanwhile, the Minister of State for Transportation, Gbemisola Saraki, has commended President Buhari for naming the Ajaokuta train station after her late father.

In a statement she issued on Monday, the minister said the people of Kwara and Kogi States are tied by history, adding that her father dedicated his life in service of the states.

Kogi state was formed from parts of Kwara and Benue states in in 1991.

She said naming the station after her father is a ”recognition of his contributions to the socio- economic and political development of the Old Kwara State and the federation”.

She said, “On behalf of the family of the late Dr. Abubakar Olusola Saraki, I express a deep appreciation to the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, His Excellency President Muhammad Buhari, GCFR, for naming the Ajaokuta Train Station after our beloved father and renowned statesman, Dr. Abubakar Olusola Saraki,” she said in a statement.

“The people of Kwara and Kogi have for long been closely tied by history and culture. The late Dr. Abubakar Olusola Saraki ardently dedicated his life to an unwavering service of the people of old Kwara state and the federation, bestowing this honour is a recognition of his contributions to the socio- economic and political development of the Old Kwara State and the federation.

“Naming the Ajaokuta Train Station after our late father is a a testament to his life’s work for the advancement of these States. We have no doubt that the construction of the Ajaokuta Train Station by the President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration will contribute immensely to the economic development of our beloved country, Nigeria.

“We commend your leadership and commitment to resuscitating rail transportation in the country through the assiduous and enviable effort of the Honourable Minister of Transportation, Hon. Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi and reaffirm the support of the family in the realisation of your laudable efforts.”