Buhari spares maritime agencies; sacks chief executives of NRC, BPE, SON, 23 others

President Muhamadu Buhari yesterday sacked 26 chief executives of agencies and departments of government.

A statement signed by Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Babachir David Lawal said, “The President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari has approved the immediate disengagement of the following Chief Executive Officers of the underlisted parastatals, agencies and commissions.

“He has also approved that the most senior officers in the parastatals, agencies and councils oversee the activities of the organizations pending the appointment of substantive Chief Executive Officers.

“Mr. President, however, thanked them for their invaluable services to the nation and wishes them well in their future endeavours.”

Lawal listed the affected agencies as Nigerian Television Authority (NTA); Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN); Voice of Nigeria (VON); News Agency of Nigeria (NAN); National Broadcasting Commission (NBC); Petroleum Technology Development Fund (PTDF); New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD); Nigeria Social Insurance Trust Fund (NSITF); Nigerian Content Development and Monitoring Board (NCDMB), Federal Mortgage Bank of Nigeria (FMBN); Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund); National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA); and Petroleum Equalization Fund.

Others are Nigeria Railways Corporation (NRC); Bureau of Public Procurements (BPP); Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE); Petroleum Products Pricing Regulatory Agency (PPPRA); Standard Organization of Nigeria (SON); National Agency for Food and Drugs Administration and Control (NAFDAC); Nigeria Investment Promotion Council (NIPC); Bank of Industry (BoI); National Centre for Women Development (NCWD); National Orientation Agency (NOA); Industrial Training Fund (ITF); Nigerian Export-Import Bank; and National Agency for Prohibition of Traffic In Persons and Other Related Matters (NAPTIP). 

The chief executives of maritime agencies under the Federal Ministry of Transport were however untouched. The agencies include Nigerian Ports Authority; Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency; Nigerian Shippers’ Council and Maritime Academy of Nigeria, Oron.

The others are the Nigerian Institute of Transport Technology and the Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria.

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to www.shipsandports.com.ng as the source.