Dogara unveils committee chairmen, deputies

The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Yakubu Dogara, on Thursday released a list of 96 chairmen of the House standing committees and their deputies at plenary.

48 members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) were picked as chairmen, while 46 members of People Democratic Party (PDP) will also head committees of the House.

One member each from the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) got committee chairmanship positions.

The Niger Delta committee is yet to get a chairman.

For the deputy chairman positions, APC got 54, while PDP had 38.

Two members from APGA were also picked as deputy chairmen of House committees.

There was grave silence when Dogara read out the names of the committee chairmen and their deputies.

While Hon. Abdulmumin Jibrin was named the Chairman of the House Committee on Appropriations, Hon. Nnena Elendu- Ukeje will head the Committee on Foreign Affairs.

Others are – James Faleke (Customs and Excise),  Rita Orji (Diaspora),  Adeyinka Ajayi (Aids, Loans and Debt Management) ), Nkiruka Onyejeocha (Aviation), Linus Okorie (Agricultural Colleges and Institutions), Betty Apiafi (Health Institutions), Tobi Okechukwu (Works) and Herman Hembe (FCT).

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to as the source.