Igbo Maritime Forum, Apapa chapter elects new executives

The Igbo Maritime Forum (IMF), on Wednesday conducted elections into its Apapa chapter and bye-election into its Kirikiri Chapter.

The keenly-contested election held at the Mobil Pegasus Club in Apapa saw Sir Mike Ekeocha emerge as the chairman having polled 141 votes from the 279 total of votes cast defeating his opponent, Chukwumalu Emeka who polled 135 votes.

The position of vice chairman was won by Anthony Onuora with 167 votes as against Obinna Chidozie’s 90 votes while 30 votes were voided due to some irregularities.

Nze Edekobi Joseph secured the position of the Secretary with 157 votes against Raph Agbogu’s 97 votes while the Assistant Secretary, Emeka Enwelu was returned unopposed.

Speaking to newsmen shortly after the election results were announced by the electoral committee chairman, Chief Dom Obi, Ekeocha thanked members of the forum for electing him even as he promised to deliver on his mandate.

He also pledged to unite the Igbo practitioners in the maritime sector saying he would carry all along to work as a team.

One of the contestants who lost in the election, Obiora Eme however refused the outcome of the election alleging that the process was flawed because, according to him, some persons who were not accredited were allowed to vote.

“We observed a lot of anomalies in this election. We believe this process is fundamentally flawed. We are going to table our grievances to the national body if nothing is done to get this issues addressed,” he said.

Others elected are Hyginus Odii as Treaurer; Ben Ibebuogu as Financial Secretary, Public Relations Officer, Mazi Ibekwe Nnamdi; Welfare Officer, Prince Chibueze Iwobi and Comrade Amachi George secured the position of the provost.

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to www.shipsandports.com.ng as the source.