Meira, Odunmbaku, 9 others appointed ACGs

The Nigeria Customs Service has confirmed an exclusive report published in SHIPS & PORTS DAILY of Wednesday, January 15, 2014 on the appointment of new Deputy Comptroller Generals (DCGs) and the retirement of three others.

A statement issued last Wednesday by the National Public Relations Officer of NCS, Deputy Comptroller Adewale Adeniyi, confirmed the SHIPS & PORTS DAILY report which listed the five new DCGs as Ibrahim Mera from Kebbi State (North West); Gabriel Aliu from Kogi State (North Central); Tahir Musa mni, from Yobe State (North East); Chukwuma Nwosu  from Enugu State (South East) and Ade Adewuyi from Oyo State ( South West).

Adeniyi said the five newly promoted officers will join John Atte from Bayelsa State (South South) and a serving DCG on the Customs management board.
He said eleven Comptrollers were also promoted to the rank of Assistant Comptroller Generals (ACGs).
They are: Dan Ugo (Benue State); Patience Iferi (Cross River State); Austin Warikoru (Bayelsa State); Robert Alu (Nassarawa State); Ade Dosunmu (Lagos State) and Paul Ukaigwe (Imo State).
The rest are Ahmed Mohammed (Jigawa State); Adesina Odunmbaku (Lagos State); Bello Liman (Sokoto State); Monday Abueh (Rivers State); and Ifeoma Okoli (Anambra State).
The newly promoted ACGs, according to the Customs image maker, will complement the existing six officers already on the rank. They are Idris Suleiman (Katsina); Madu Mohammed (Yobe); Iya Umar (Adamawa); Bridget Okafor (Anambra); Victor Gbemudu (Delta); and Grace Adeyemo (Ondo).
“The (Customs) Board also ratified the voluntary disengagement of three Deputy Comptrollers-General from the Service. Those who stepped down are Garba Makarfi, Dr Daniel Jatau and Yinusa Saka,” Adeniyi said

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to as the source.