New executives emerged unopposed at AREFF, Tin Can election

The Association of Registered Freight Forwarders of Nigeria (AREFFN), Tin Can Chapter has elected a new set of executives to run it affairs for the next four years.

The election which was held at the national secretariat of the association yesterday produced Jude Ige as the chairman. He was elected unopposed by the 88 accredited members who witnessed the election.

Others elected include Orisakwe Kelvin as Vice Chairman, Comrade Nwula Edogi -Secretary, Eke James – Assistant Secretary and Dare Johnson as financial Secretary. They were all elected unopposed.

The only two positions vied for at the election was the seat of the Public Relation Officer and ex-officio.

Isaac Okoh emerged as the PRO while Eke Christopher and Anayo Oledu were elected ex-officio.

Speaking shortly after the election, Ige promised to protect the interest of all agents irrespective of the association they belong.

He said he would work to redeem the image of agents, some of whom according to him are usually regarded as touts.

“We the executives are going to protect the interest of all agents in as much as they are genuine. We all have our integrity to protect. All the negative impression people are having about agents will be changed because we all have our rights,” he said.

While congratulating the newly elected executives, President of the association, Dr. Frank Ukor advised them to work with other sister associations and have a good working relationship with government agencies at the port.

He also urged them not to embark on any strike but rather embrace dialogue when issue arise at the port.

“They should never embark on any strike no matter the issue. We have a way of doing things and that is by following due process of dialogue. If that does not resolve the issue, we may then go to court,” he said.

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to as the source.