Nigerian Navy promotes 87 senior officers


The Nigerian Navy Board has approved the promotion of 87 senior officers to the ranks of Rear Admiral, Commodore, Captain and Commander.

The Navy in a statement on Tuesday by  its Spokesman, Commodore Ayo Olugbode, said among the newly promoted senior officers are 10 Rear Admirals, 25 Commodores, 24 Captains and 28 Commanders.

Olugbode in statement said the 10 Admirals promoted include Commodores DM Dogonyaro, Commandant, Nigerian Navy School of Armament Technology, Kachia; TA Imam, Director of Policy Naval Headquarters; RO Mohammed, Director of Recruitment, Resettlement and Reserve, Naval Headquarters and IB Yusuf, Director of Personnel Release, Naval Headquarters.

Other are: WO Kayode, Director Navigation/Positioning and Timing, Defence Space Administration; OE Eyo, Commander NNS BEECROFT; SO Agada, Directing Staff NDC; EE Aneke Commodore Naval Drafting; MM Bashir, Directing Staff NDC and AO Ayobanjo Deputy Commandant, Naval War College, Nigeria.

He said those promoted to the rank of Commodore are Captains T Sani, MN Madugu, OO Fadeyi, AA Gaya, S. Dahun, OA Oludude, SD Atakpa, A. Baba-Inna, PE Effah, AA Mustapha, CD Okehie, I. Okpala, OBF Oladipo, OO Soyemi, and EA Zipele.

Others are AK Ezenma, C. Onyemaobi, SA Yahaya, SH Abdullahi, KM Bushi, SA Ejaro, G Obaje, AE Bello, ID Nurudeen and IA Ahmed.

Olugbodesaid the newly promoted senior officers will be decorated at a later date.

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to as the source.