Rotimi Amaechi is Transport Minister



Six months after coming to power, President Muhammadu Buhari today finally assigned portfolios to his ministers-designates.

Former Rivers State Governor, Rt. Honourable Rotimi Amaechi was named Minister of Transportation.

Amaechi was the Director-General of the All Progressives Congress Campaign Organisation (APCPCO) during the run up to the Aprill 11 Presidential election won by President Muhammadu Buhari.

The President said he would serve as the nation’s Petroleum Minister while the current Group Managing Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), Dr. Ibe Kachikwu was named Minister of State (Petroleum).

The full ministerial list is as follows:

  1. Chris Ngige – (Anambra) Minister of Labour & Employment
  2. Kayode Fayemi- (Ekiti) Minister of Solid Minerals
  3. Rotimi Amaechi – (Rivers) Minister of Transportation
  4. Babatunde Fashola -(Lagos) Minister of Power, Works and Housing
  5. Abdulrahman Dambazau- (Kano) Minister of Interior
  6. Aisha Alhassan – (Taraba) Minister of Women Affairs
  7. Ogbonaya Onu- (Ebonyi) Minister of Science and Technology
  8. Kemi Adeosun – (Ogun) Minister of Finance
  9. Abubakar Malami – (Kebbi) Minister of Justice
  10. Sen Hadi Sirika – (Katsina) Minister of State, Aviation
  11. Barr. Adebayo Shittu – (Oyo) Minister of Communication
  12. Suleiman Adamu – (Jigawa) Minister of Water Resources
  13. Solomon Dalong – (Plateau) Minister for Youth and Sports
  14. Ibe Kachikwu – (Delta) Minister of State, Petroleum
  15. Osagie Ehanire – (Edo) Minister of State, Health
  16. Audu Ogbeh – (Benue) Minister of Agriculture
  17. Udo Udo Udoma – (Akwa Ibom)  Minister of Budget & National Planning
  18. Lai Mohammed – (Kwara) Minister of Information
  19. Amina Mohammed – (Gombe) Minister of Environment
  20. Ibrahim Usman Jibril – (Nasarawa) Minister of State, Environment
  21. Hajia Khadija Bukar Ibrahim- (Yobe) Minister of State, Foreign Affairs
  22. Cladius Omoleye Daramola (Ondo) Minister of State, Niger Delta
  23. Prof Anthony Onwuka (Imo) Minister of State, Education
  24. Geoffrey Onyema (Enugu) Minister of Foreign Affairs
  25. Dan Ali (Zamfara) Minister of Defence
  26. Barr James Ocholi (Kogi)  Minister of State, Labour & Employment
  27. Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna) Minister of State Budget and National Planning
  28. Okechukwu Enelamah (Abia) Trade, Investment & Industry
  29. Muhammadu Bello (Adamawa) Minister of Federal Capital Territory
  30. Mustapha Baba Shehuri (Borno) Minister of State, Power
  31. Aisha Abubakar (Sokoto) Minister of State, Trade & Investment
  32. Heineken Lokpobiri (Bayelsa) Minister of State, Agriculture
  33. Adamu Adamu (Bauchi) Minister of Education
  34. Isaac Adewole (Osun)  Minister of Health
  35. Abubakar Bawa Bwari (Niger) Minister of State, Solid Minerals
  36. Pastor Usani Uguru (Cross River) Minister of Niger Delta

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to as the source.