Sambo heads FG’S 16-man transition committee

The names of the 16-member Federal Government’s transition committee, and its secretary, have been released, the Daily Times has learnt. To be headed by Vice President Namadi Sambo, the committee will work with the incoming government of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in ensuring a smooth transfer of power. Major General Muhammadu Buhari of the APC defeated incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at the March 28 general elections. The new government takes office on 29 May 2015. The members of the committee include the Minister of Finance and Co-ordinating Minister of the economy, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala; the Minister of State for Finance, as well as the ministers of Justice, Transport, Police Affairs, and the Niger Delta. The list also includes the Managing Director of the Assets Management Company of Nigeria, the Head of Service of the Federation, the Executive Secretary of the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFUND), as well as the Directors General of the Bureau of Public Enterprises (BPE), the Bureau of Public Procurement (BPP), National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control (NAFDAC), Nigeria Export Processing Zones Authority(NEPZA) and Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA). The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Senator Anyim Pius Anyim, will service as secretary.

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to as the source.