Senate to screen Buhari’s ministerial nominees June 29

Senate rejects NDDC nominee 
Ahmad Lawan

Senate President Ahmad Lawan said the upper legislative chamber has fixed June 29 for the screening of the seven new ministerial nominees sent to it by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Lawan said this on Wednesday shortly before the Senate adjourned its session.

“The ministerial nominees will be screened on Wednesday next week,” he said. 

In a letter to the Senate on Tuesday, President Buhari asked the lawmakers to confirm seven ministerial nominees. The President based his request on Section 147(2) of the Constitution.

The new ministerial nominees are Henry Ikechukwu (Abia), Umana Okon Umana (Akwa Ibom), Ekuma Joseph (Ebonyi), Goodluck Nana Obia (Imo), Umar Ibrahim Yakub (Kano), Ademola Adewole Adegorioye (Ondo), and Odo Udi (Rivers).

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to as the source.