Baltic states sign agreement for single gas tariff zone

Regulations stall investment in Nigeria’s gas sector - Expert
Illustrative picture. PHOTO CREDIT: SHIPS & PORTS archive

Gas transmission companies in Finland, Latvia and Estonia on Thursday reached an agreement to set up a single gas transmission tariff zone for the three Baltic states from 2020.

“It will be used for transportation of the gas across Finland, Estonia and Latvia without additional charges,” the three operators — Finland’s Gasum, Estonia’s Elering and Latvia’s AS Conexus Baltic Grid — said in a statement.

They added that the agreement is expected to lead to higher market liquidity by making it easier for shippers and traders to sell gas to the whole region.

The deal unifies entry point tariffs on the external borders of the region and removes commercial interconnection points between countries.