Buhari appoints Orakwusi into Nigerian Shippers’ Council Board

Mrs. Margaret Onyema-Orakwusi
Margaret Onyema-Orakwusi

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of former Chairman, Nigerian Trawler Owners Association (NITOA), Mrs. Margaret Onyema-Orakwusi into the Governing Board of the Nigerian Shippers’ Council (NSC). 

The NSC Governing Board has Hon. Mai Mala Buni as Chairman while Onyema-Orakwusi, Otunba Seyi Oduntan, Yekini Nabena, Lawal Yakawada, Hauwa Mohammed, Mohammed Daiyabu, Muhd-Danjuma Mohammed, Angulu Lolo and Surv. Lekan Adekanbi were appointed as members.

Onyema-Orakwusi’s appointment was conveyed to her last week through a letter dated 7th March 2018 signed by the Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi. 

While inaugurating the NSC board along with those of the National Inland Waterways (NIWA), Maritime Academy of Nigeria (MAN) Oron, Council for the Registration of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN), and the Nigerian Institute of Transport Technology (NITT) in Abuja on Friday, the Minister warned all new board chairmen and members under the federal ministry of transportation to eschew all forms of corruption and help government deliver on its responsibilities.

The minister asked all the board members to be transparent, adding that they are responsible for setting operational and administrative policies in accordance with government policy directives aimed at assisting the parastatals to achieve their mandate.

He also tasked the boards to measure performance against targets and introduce broad-based policy measures that will curtail forms of deviations to ensure that the targets are achieved.

“I informed them to perform their responsibilities, like you know, the ministry will not oversee them unnecessarily, we will but, more like supervisory role and we want to make sure and ensure that there’s speed because, Nigerians don’t want to hear stories, they want us to deliver and also expect the board to also deliver in that line. We know there are challenges but, they have to deliver back to the society” Amaechi told journalists shortly after inaugurating the boards.

Amaechi also said that the board members’ appointment is strictly guided by the federal government circular on revised frequency of meetings for part-time members of government committees, boards of federal agencies, statutory corporations and government owned companies issued by the National Salaries and Wages Commission and the guides to administrative procedures in the federal public service as a measure to reduce the cost of governance. 

SHIPS & PORTS DAILY reports that Admiral Ibrahim Iko was appointed NIWA Board Chairman while the Board members are Barr. Ejike Anakani, Munir Uthman Mohammed, Hajiya Hauwa Gadaka, Ezekiel Adetunloro and Dr. John Harry.

Lagos-based politician and former Minister of State for Defence, Demola Seriki was appointed MAN Oron Board Chairman while the Board members are Taiwo Tayo Ibitola, Hon. Garba Jiji and Sale Kuidawa.

The appointed Governing Council members of the CRFFN include Hon. Donatu Ozoemena, Benson Edosomwan, Abubakar Tsanni, Hassan Jonga, Sen. Bisi Oyewo and Otunba Moshood Tijani. The Chairman, according to a statement from the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, will emerge through an election of the council.

Dr. Fred Latimo Oghenesube was appointed as NITT’s Board Chairman while Musa Dankadai, Ishiaku Daniel, Sani Bako Kangiwa, Martins Usman, Hon. Adamu Bullachuwa, Muhammed Imam, Hajia Fati N. Abubakar and Agboola Kelly emerged as the Board members.