Buhari reshuffles cabinet, appoints Muazu new transportation minister

Buhari commends NPA’s electronic call-up system 
President Muhammadu Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari today reshuffled his cabinet after administering the oath of office on seven new ministers whose appointments were confirmed last week by the Senate.

The new ministers took the oath of office shortly before the commencement of the weekly Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting at the council chambers of the State House in Abuja.

The new ministers sworn-in by the President are Henry Ikechukwu Ikoh (Abia State), Umana Okon Umana (Akwa Ibom State), Odum Odih (Rivers State) and Ademola Adewole Adegoroye (Ondo State). The others are Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub (Kano State), Goodluck Nnana Opiah (Imo State) and Egwumakama Joseph Nkama (Ebonyi State).

Before the swearing in, a minute silence was observed in honour of the Secretary-General of the Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC), Mohammed Barkindo, who died in Abuja on Tuesday night at the age of 63.

The new ministers were assigned portfolio while some old ministers were moved to new ministries.

The portfolios of the new and reassigned ministers are as follows:

Muazu Jaji Sambo – Minister of Transportation

Umana Okon Umana – Minister of Niger Delta Affairs

Gbemisola Saraki – Minister for State for Mines and Steel

Dr Olorunimbe Mamora – Minister of Science and Technology

Sharon Ikeazor – Minister of State for Niger Delta Affairs

Umar Ibrahim el Yakub – Minister of State for Works and Housing

Goodluck Nanah Opiah – Minister of State for Education

Ekumankama Joseph Nkama – Minister of State for Heath

Ikoh Henry ikechukwu – Minister of State, Science and Technology

Odum Udi – Minister of State, Environment

Ademola Adewole Adegoroye – Minister of State, Transportation.

The new Minister of Transportation was the Minister of State for Works and Housing.

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to www.shipsandports.com.ng as the source.