Senate confirms three NDDC board nominees 


By Omotilewa Quadri 

The Senate on Thursday confirmed the appointment of three members of the board of Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC).

The nominees were confirmed after Chairman of NDDC committee, Peter Nwaboshi, presented a report to the Senators for consideration.

The confirmed nominees are Lucky Orimisan Aiyedatiwa (Ondo), Chuka Ama Nwauwa (Imo) and Nwogu N. Nwogu (Abia).

Nwaboshi explained that the nominees were screened but the report was put on hold because of the Senate’s resolution not to confirm nominees.

“The committee met and screened the nominees but put its report on hold in line with the resolution of the senate regarding confirmation of nominations at that time.

“After due consultation with the leadership of the Senate, given that Mr President had forwarded the above-mentioned names before the resolution of the Senate on confirmation exercises, the committee wishes to present its report on the screening of the nominees,” he said, 

In October 2016, the Senate rejected three nominees of President Muhammadu Buhari.

He was then asked to send replacement nominees.  

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to as the source.