5 Customs chiefs resign

Five Deputy Comptroller General of Customs yesterday resigned their appointment with the Nigeria Customs Service.

The DCGs stated this in a joint letter written to the Chairman of the Nigeria Customs Service Board through the Comptroller-General.

A copy of the letter, which was obtained by Ships & Ports, showed it was signed by all the DCGs making up the management team of the NCS.

It read, “We, the under listed officers currently on the rank of DCG, met today and unanimously decided to voluntarily retire from the service of the NCS having risen to the rank of DCG.”




They thanked President Muhammadu Buhari for the opportunity given to them to serve Nigeria.

The Deputy Comptrollers General are John Atte (Finance, Administration and Technical Service); Adewuyi Akinade (Tariff and Trade); Tahir Musa (Enforcement, Investigation and Inspection); Chukwuma Nwosu and Ibrahim Mera.

A senior officer of the NCS, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said the purported resignation letter had been making the rounds among officers through their emails and several social media.

He said many officers were aware of the development although there had been no official statement from the customs.

The spokesperson for the NCS, Wale Adeniyi, when contacted, said he was not aware of the resignation.

He said, “I left the office at about 4pm and I’m not aware of such development.”

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to www.shipsandports.com.ng as the source.