Nted wins 2013 Maritime Man award

President General of the Maritime Workers Union of Nigeria (MWUN), Comrade Tony Nted, has emerged winner of the 2013 Maritime Man of the Year award organised by Maritime Media Limited.

Organizers of the award said Nted emerged winner with 467 votes to beat three other contenders.

“He was closely followed by Mr. Hassan Bello, Executive Secretary and Chief Executive Officer of the Nigerian Shippers’ Council who polled 391 votes. Chief Isaac Jolapamo, President of the Indigenous Shipowners Association of Nigeria (ISAN) and Otunba Kunle Folarin, Chairman of the Ports Consultative Council polled 386 votes and 383 votes to clinch the third and fourth places respectively,” the company said in a statement signed by its Chief Executive Officer, Asu Beks.

Nted, a former President of the Dockworkers Union of Nigeria was elected as President General of the Maritime Workers Union of Nigeria in 2009 to succeed Comrade Peter Irabor. He was re-elected in March 2013 for a second four-year term.

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to www.shipsandports.com.ng as the source.