Osinbajo appoints Dangote, 35 others into industrial policy council

Osinbajo appoints Dangote, Peterside, 34 others

The Acting President Yemi Osinbajo on Tuesday inaugurated the Presidential Industrial Policy and Competitiveness Advisory Council at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

He charged the Council to develop policies that would make the Nigerian economy more competitive.

The industrial council was set up to boost partnership between the government and the private sector.

The Federal Executive Council gave the approval for the establishment of the council during its meeting held on March 15.

Osinbajo said Nigeria would not industrialize without the collaboration of the public and private sectors.

He said, “The public sector, by itself, cannot do business and simply cannot even deliver on any industrialization effort.

“Government does not make the best businessmen and women.”

Osinbajo appoints Dangote, Peterside, 34 others

Members of the Council from the Private Sector include the Chairman of Nigerian Breweries and PZ Cussons, Kola Jamodu; Chairman of BUA Group, Abdulsamad Rabi and Chairman of IVM Innoson Group of Companies Limited, Dr. Innocent Ifediaso Chukwuma.

Others are – GMD of Chi Foods Nigeria, Mr. Rahul Savara; Chairman of Flour Mills of Nigeria Plc, John Coumantarous; CEO of Emzor Pharmaceuticals, Stella Okoli; Country Head of Olam Group; Mukul Mathur; President/CEO of Beloxxi Industries Limited, Obi Ezeude; MD/CEO of Fidson Healthcare Plc, Fidelis Ayebea and Founder of Flutterwave, Iyinoluwa Aboyeji.

Also listed are – President/CEO of GE Business Operations Nigeria, Lazarus Angbazo; CEO of Jumia, Mrs. Juliet Anamah; CEO of SecureID Nigeria Limited, Mrs. Kofo Akinkugbe; Chairman/C.E.O of AMMASCO International Limited, Ado Mustapha; Chairman of KAM Industries, Kamaldeen Yusuf; Chairman of United Textiles Plc, Adamu Atta; CEO of Swift Networks, Charles Anudu; Chairman of Rumbu Sacks Nigeria Limited, Ibrahim Salisu Buhari, Chairman of Tofa Group, Isiaku Tofa; MD/CEO of Proforce Limited, Ade Ogundeyin and President of Manufacturers Association of Nigeria, Frank Udemba Jacobs.

Other Public Sector members include the Minister of Budget and National Planning, Senator Udoma Udo Udoma; Minister of Finance, Kemi Adeosun; Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Audu Ogbeh; Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Babatunde Raji Fashola; Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Minister of State, Petroleum Resources, Dr. Ibe Kachikwu, Minister of Mines and Steel Development, Kayode Fayemi; Minister of Science and Technology, Ogbonnaya Onu; and Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria, Godwin Emefiele.

Technical members of the Council include the Economic Adviser to the President, Yemi Dipeolu; Trade Adviser/Chief Negotiator, Chiedu Osakwe; MD of Bank of Industry, Waheed Olagunju; Executive Director/CEO of Nigerian Export Promotion Council, Olusegun Awolowo; Executive Secretary, Nigeria Investment Promotion Commission, Yewande Sadiku; Statistician-General, National Bureau of Statistics, Yemi Kale and CEO of Economic Associates, Ayo Teriba.   

Osinbajo appoints Dangote, Peterside, 34 others

Copyright Ships & Ports Ltd. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit given to www.shipsandports.com.ng as the source.