Six truck drivers in court for traffic offences

The Apapa Police Station on Friday arraigned six truck drivers before an Apapa Magistrates’ Court for allegedly committing traffic offences in Apapa.

The six truck drivers are Mushood Abdulrazeez (30), Shakiru Tijani (33), Ademola Adeniran (35), Wasiu Bello (23), Kazeem Mushibuwa (30) and Uche Ijeofor (26). They are facing one-count charge each for driving recklessly.

The prosecutor, Sergeant Kolade Tedujaye, told the court that the defendants committed the offences on July 19, 2018 at about 8:40pm along Wharf Road by Area ‘B’ Police Station, Apapa.

“The defendants being the drivers in charge of Mercedes Benz Truck with registration number LSD 907 XC, DAF Truck with registration number BDG 720 XW, Mercedes Benz Truck with registration AAA 74 XN, Mitsubishi Truck with registration number AAA 362 XN, DAF Truck with registration number XR 419 EPE and Mack Truck with registration number EKY 909 XW drove same vehicle each on the public highway in a dangerous and reckless manner and drove against traffic,” Tedujaye said.

According to her, the offences are punishable under Law No. 4 section 20 Vol. 45 Lagos State Traffic Law 2012.

All the defendants pleaded not guilty to the charges against them.

Magistrate Nurudeen Layeni granted the defendants bail in the sum of N50,000 with one responsible surety.

He adjourned the case till August 2, 2018 for mention.