Five EU countries to take in migrants on charity ship

Spain offers to dock stranded migrant rescue ship

France, Spain, Germany, Portugal and Luxembourg have agreed to take some of the 141 migrants on the Aquarius humanitarian ship, the European Commission said on Tuesday.

However, European Migration Commissioner, Dimitris Avramopoulos, said the bloc needs to find a long-term solution to the migrant issue.

“We cannot rely on ad-hoc arrangements, we need sustainable solutions. It is not the responsibility of one or a few Member States only, but of the European Union as a whole,” he said in a statement.

Agency Report